Catalog

Holds may take longer to fill due to library closures within the Sage Library System

Record Details

Catalog Search




CD Audiobook

Fighting for space [sound recording] : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight / Amy Shira Teitel.

Teitel, Amy Shira, (author,, narrator.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Sage Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Hood River County Library District.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Summary:

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb, two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space. But along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars. A dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Circulation Modifier Age Hold Protection Active/Create Date Status Due Date
Hood River County Library CD 629.13092 TEI (Text) 33892100699611 Adult New Audiobooks Audiobook CD None 08/11/2020 Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781549121005
  • ISBN: 1549121006
  • Physical Description: 9 audio discs (approximately 11 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [New York, New York] : Hachette Audio, [2020]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Compact discs.
Title from container.
"Includes a PDF of photos"--Container.
Participant or Performer Note:
Read by the author.
Summary, etc.:
Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb, two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space. But along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars. A dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time.
Subject: Cochran, Jacqueline.
Cobb, Jerrie.
Women air pilots > United States > Biography.
Aeronautics > United States > History > 20th century.
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Adventurers & Explorers.
Genre: Biographies.
Audiobooks.
Sound recordings.
LDR 03025cim a2200625Ii 4500
0012220032
003SAGE
00520200804174401.0
007sd fsngnnmmned
008191223t20202020nyunnnn b n eng d
020 . ‡a9781549121005
020 . ‡a1549121006
0243 . ‡a9781549121005
02801. ‡a2-Y2100 ‡bHachette Audio
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1132823248
037 . ‡bMidwest Tape ‡nhttp://www.midwesttapes.com
043 . ‡an-us---
049 . ‡aOR4A
040 . ‡aTEFMT ‡beng ‡erda ‡cTEFMT ‡dOCLCO ‡dTEF ‡dOCLCF ‡dTEFMT ‡dTP7 ‡dNTG ‡dOCL ‡dRECBC
050 4. ‡aTL539 ‡b.T45 2020ab
08204. ‡a629.13/092/52/0973 ‡aB ‡223
1001 . ‡aTeitel, Amy Shira, ‡eauthor, ‡enarrator. ‡0(SAGE)1623336
24510. ‡aFighting for space ‡h[sound recording] : ‡btwo pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight / ‡cAmy Shira Teitel.
250 . ‡aUnabridged.
264 1. ‡a[New York, New York] : ‡bHachette Audio, ‡c[2020]
264 4. ‡c℗2020
300 . ‡a9 audio discs (approximately 11 hr.) : ‡bCD audio, digital ; ‡c4 3/4 in.
306 . ‡a110000
336 . ‡aspoken word ‡bspw ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aaudio ‡bs ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡aaudio disc ‡bsd ‡2rdacarrier
344 . ‡adigital ‡2rdatr
344 . ‡boptical ‡2rdarm
347 . ‡aaudio file ‡2rdaft
347 . ‡bCD audio
340 . ‡b4 3/4 in.
500 . ‡aCompact discs.
500 . ‡aTitle from container.
5110 . ‡aRead by the author.
500 . ‡a"Includes a PDF of photos"--Container.
520 . ‡aSpaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb, two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space. But along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars. A dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time.
60010. ‡aCochran, Jacqueline. ‡0(SAGE)1688755
60010. ‡aCobb, Jerrie. ‡0(SAGE)2108768
650 0. ‡aWomen air pilots ‡zUnited States ‡vBiography. ‡0(SAGE)1520744
650 0. ‡aAeronautics ‡zUnited States ‡xHistory ‡y20th century.
650 7. ‡aBIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Adventurers & Explorers. ‡2bisacsh
655 7. ‡aBiographies. ‡2lcgft ‡0(SAGE)1429775
655 7. ‡aAudiobooks. ‡2lcgft ‡0(SAGE)1429255
655 7. ‡aSound recordings. ‡2lcgft ‡0(SAGE)1429573
8564 . ‡3recordedbooks.com ‡uhttps://www.recordedbooks.com/title-details/9781549121005
8564 . ‡3RBMedia ‡uhttps://d2cv0ie6dlin9h.cloudfront.net/DD48205/DD48205_image_148x230.jpg
902 . ‡aMARCIVE 092020
994 . ‡aC0 ‡bOR4
999 . ‡eAudiobook CD
905 . ‡uadmin
901 . ‡aon1132823248 ‡bOCoLC ‡c2220032 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources